Participant permissions and their roles

TrueConfAbout 3 min

Participant permissions and their roles

Roles description

TrueConf Server supports the following roles within the chat:
  • owner - group chat owner;

  • admin - appointed moderator of the group chat;

  • user - regular participant of a group chat;

  • conf_owner — a role assigned to the owner of the conference; used only in conference chats.

  • conf_moderator — the role of the conference moderator (operator); used exclusively in conference chats.

  • favorites_owner — the role of the Favorites chat owner; used only in this type of chat.

  • writer - the role of a user who has the right to write in a chat of type channel; used only in this type of chat.

You can retrieve the list of chat participants along with their roles by using the getChatParticipants request.

Role permissions in a regular chat

owneradminuserconf_ownerconf_moderatorfavorites_owner
Reading messages✅✅✅✅✅✅
Sending Messages✅✅✅✅✅✅
Adding participants to the chat✅✅❌❌❌❌
Removing participants from the chat✅✅❌❌❌❌
Editing Your Own Messages✅✅✅✅✅✅
Deleting Your Messages Locally✅✅✅✅✅✅
Deleting your messages for everyone✅✅✅✅✅✅
Deleting others' messages for yourself✅✅✅✅✅❌
Deleting messages from others for everyone✅✅❌✅✅❌
Clearing your chat history✅✅✅✅✅✅
Clear chat history for everyone✅✅❌✅✅❌
Reply to messages✅✅✅✅✅✅
Forwarding messages to/from chat✅✅✅✅✅✅
File Transfer✅✅✅✅✅✅
Sending Geolocation✅✅✅✅✅✅
Sending contacts✅✅✅✅✅✅
Sending emojis✅✅✅✅✅✅
Sending Stickers✅✅❌✅✅✅
Pinning Messages✅✅❌✅✅✅
Changing the chat name✅✅❌❌❌❌
Changing the chat icon✅✅❌❌❌❌
Changing chat participant roles✅✅❌✅✅❌
Assigning rights to chat participants✅✅❌✅✅❌
Revocation of chat participant rights✅✅❌✅✅❌
Participant Locking✅✅❌❌❌❌
Changing the chat owner✅❌❌❌❌❌
Setting the first visible message✅✅❌❌❌✅
Polls Submission✅✅✅❌❌❌

Role permissions in the channel

owneradminuserconf_ownerconf_moderatorfavorites_ownerwriter
Reading messages✅✅✅✅✅✅✅
Sending Messages✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Adding participants to the chat✅✅❌❌❌❌❌
Removing participants from the chat✅✅❌❌❌❌❌
Editing Your Own Messages✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Deleting Your Messages Locally✅✅❌✅✅✅❌
Deleting your messages for everyone✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Deleting others' messages for yourself✅✅❌✅✅❌❌
Deleting messages from others for everyone✅✅❌✅✅❌❌
Clearing your chat history✅✅❌✅✅✅❌
Clear chat history for everyone✅✅❌✅✅❌❌
Reply to messages✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Forwarding messages to/from chat✅✅✅✅✅✅✅
File Transfer✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Sending Geolocation✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Sending contacts✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Sending emojis✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Sending Stickers✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Pinning Messages✅✅❌✅✅✅✅
Changing the chat name✅✅❌❌❌❌❌
Changing the chat icon✅✅❌❌❌❌❌
Changing chat participant roles✅✅❌❌❌❌❌
Assigning rights to chat participants✅✅❌✅✅❌❌
Revocation of chat participant rights✅✅❌✅✅❌❌
Participant Locking✅✅❌❌❌❌❌
Changing the chat owner✅❌❌❌❌❌❌
Setting the first visible message✅✅❌❌❌✅❌
Polls Submission✅✅❌❌❌❌✅